Unboxing my Raspberry Pi board

Unboxing RPiToday I got my Raspberry Pi 2 Model B board. This credit card sized motherboard has the following specification:

  • 900Mhz quad-core Broadcom BCM2836 CPU
  • 1 GB DDR2 RAM
  • 40 extended pins — with 27 GPIO pins
  • Micro SD slot
  • Videocore IV 3D graphics core
  • I/O includes four USB ports + full-sized HDMI + four pole stereo output and composite video port + CSI camera port + DSI display port
  • 10/100 BaseT Ethernet
  • Micro-USB power port — 5V, 2A
  • Dimensions: 85 x 56 x 17mm

Pretty amazing product with all the essentials to start tinkering. I inserted the Micro SD card that had many NOOBS’ configured OSes. Connected the RPi board to my laptop back-to-back using the patch cable and powered up the board. Two problems were on my way to get the remote shell of the board.

  1. No IP address was assigned to the board and was made to take the IP address dynamically from a DHCP server.
  2. No SSH service seemed to start after OS boot.

So I decided to run a DHCP server in my laptop. Thankfully, I found this tiny DHCP app for Windows. I downloaded, unziped, did the minimal configuration such as local adapter to use, IP address pool and the like and get the DHCP server up and running.

I then powered off and powered up the RPi. As predicted the board took the IP address from the DHCP address pool And I was able to ping the board from my laptop.

PS C:\Users\DeepakDevanand> ping

Pinging with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

But connecting to RPi through SSH using Putty was giving “Network Error: Connection refused” error. Hence I ran a quick nmap port scan on RPi to see whether port 22(SSH) is open.

PS C:\Users\DeepakDevanand> nmap -A

Starting Nmap 6.49BETA4 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2015-08-25 21:07 India Standard Time
Nmap scan report for
Host is up (0.00063s latency).
Not shown: 999 filtered ports
1723/tcp closed pptp
MAC Address: B8:27:EB:ED:C7:C3 (Raspberry Pi Foundation)
Too many fingerprints match this host to give specific OS details
Network Distance: 1 hop

As the nmap scan revealed, there’s no SSH server running on RPi. This leaves me no choice but to connect  the board to a display(hopefully my neighbor’s TV), and do the following.
1. Enable SSH server and configure it to run at boot time.
2. Assign a permanent static IP to RPi, so I don’t have to have a DHCP server to connect to the board.

The guy is yet to come to his room before I can steal his TV for my RPi board…

I’ll write more about RPi as I start tinkering with it.

About Deepak Devanand

Seeker of knowledge
This entry was posted in Raspberry Pi and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unboxing my Raspberry Pi board

  1. Pingback: Here comes Raspberry Pi 3 | Deepak's Kaleidoscope

Leave a Reply

