The Good-Natured Girl

Mandya Girl

I was raised to keep quiet
and let life pass me by.
No one ever told me
It was okay to fight.
No one ever told me
They had faith in me.
I was raised to keep quiet
and life has passed me by.

The crickets abandoned the yard
not long after I’m gone.
The evenings are too quiet now—

no big, dumb you exploring every 
bush and branch,
snapping and snuffling
through the thicket,
coming home 
with dirt on my nose
and covered in burrs,

goofy faced.

Just grass
and a sleeping garden.

The squirrels fear nothing.

Grant me the moment, the lovely moment
That I may lean forth to see
The other buds, the other blooms,
The other leaves on the tree:

That I may take into my bosom
The breeze that is like his brother,
But stiller, lighter, whose faint laughter
Exhoes the joy of the other.

Above on the blue and white cloud-spaces
There are small clouds at play.
I watch their remote, mysterious play-time
In the other far-away.

Grant I may hear the small birds singing
the song that the silence knows…
(The Light and the Shadow whisper together,
The lovely moment grows,

Ripples into the air like water
Away and away without sound,
And the Mandya girl gets up from her praying
On the cold ground.)

About Deepak Devanand

Seeker of knowledge
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

